You are at the heart of the fight against spam

Signal Spam is a tool for sharing information about mail deemed undesirable by users: it is the Internet user who sends back in real time the information that a spam has reached him, whatever its nature. This is valuable, qualitative information for both security professionals and responsible commercial emailers. In doing so, the Internet user participates in the fight against spam.

report spam
spam signal

Transmission of your reports

What we pass on and to whom
Actions taken
  • Data Protection Authority

    Top 50 most reported spam campaigns and sender domains.

    The CNIL controls companies and applies sanctions.

  • Web hosting companies

    Transmission of alerts concerning their network.

    Dialog / Restriction / Closing spamming customer accounts.

  • Message sending routers

    Transmissions of reports concerning their network, domains and campaigns.

    Unsubscribing Internet users. Marketing regulation.

  • Police & Gendarmerie

    Requisition in the database for investigations.

    Identification of cybercriminals and legal proceedings.

  • Advertisers

    Transmissions of alerts generated by commercial prospecting and/or messages usurping the company's communication.

    Marketing regulation and the fight against phishing.

  • Security

    Feeding in phishing URLs, spam or spambot reports.

    Reinforcement of filters, blacklists and anti-spam engines.

  • Internet service providers and messaging services

    Identification of infected terminals sending spam to operators' networks.

    Disinfection of compromised machines.

Unsubscribe from databases

When the user's reports correspond to messages from advertisers, e-merchants or routers (senders of bulk messages) who are members or entitled to Signal Spam, the reports are treated as a request to unsubscribe.

In practice, Signal Spam offers access to a feedback loop that allows to communicate in real time to the sender a complaint about a message he has sent, thus allowing to enforce the right of opposition of the Internet user, to regulate the marketing activity, and to optimize the deliverability of legitimate mailings.

This work with e-mailing professionals in order to make the market more responsible is crucial: about 90% of what is considered as spam by Internet users is of commercial origin, a term which covers very diverse practices. The members of Signal Spam accept a deontological charter when they join the association and commit themselves, according to their profession, on the best practices.

Feedback loop recipients can be identified by this logo:

Benefits for the Internet user:

To assert one's right to object through a click that is treated both as a request to unsubscribe and as digital evidence that can be used by the authorities in charge of regulating commercial e-mail.

Benefits for message senders:

Receive a feedback loop, an essential tool to know the rate of complaints generated by a campaign, to advise its advertisers, and to better apply the right of opposition of the Internet users.

Fight against Cybercrime and corrumptious computer networks

Today, experts consider that the greatest threat of cybercrime is posed by botnets: networks of corrupted computers, working without their owners' knowledge for organized crime or international terrorism, sending spam (to finance themselves) or attacking public and private servers. It is not known how many computers are infected by botnets, but experts estimate that a quarter of all public computers are infected.

The technical header of a spam message contains information about an infected terminal that was used to send it. Signal Spam processes this data and redistributes it to public authorities, network operators (who provide Internet users' connections) and network security professionals, and promotes the global sharing of this information to fight effectively against this phenomenon worldwide.

Signal Spam redistributes information to operators and actors in the fight against cybercrime, enabling them to thwart the infection of users' machines and promotes global information sharing.

Benefits for the Internet user:

A simple and unique tool to report any type of threat without having to question the exact nature of the threat - the Internet user plays an active role in protecting himself and participating in the fight against cybercrime.

Benefits for those involved in the fight against cybercrime (public authorities and industry):

Receive useful and enhanced information from the best possible source to identify spammers and cybercriminals and deploy appropriate countermeasures.

Fight against phishing, fraud and counterfeiting

Signal Spam provides professionals concerned about preserving their image and their customers with alerts and data feeds on spam campaigns that imitate the communication or use the name of a trusted sender. Companies can reliably know which attacks are targeting them, and put in place the necessary protections.

Phishing is a threat to both the Internet user and companies. Signal Spam recovers the URLs (website addresses) contained in the spam that tries to incite Internet users to enter banking information that will be stolen and reused.

Brands and network security professionals receive a qualified stream of phishing URLs or reports.

Benefits for the Internet user:

A tool to report any attempt to steal banking and personal information. Signal Spam proceeds to the qualification

Benefits for brands and security professionals:

Receive real-time alerts on phishing campaigns that target a brand to block malicious URLs reported in web browsers.

A digital evidence base

A complaint formulated by an Internet user constitutes digital evidence held at the disposal of police and gendarmerie investigators in order to obtain probative elements that complete the investigation files.

Signal Spam has signed two partnership agreements with the CNIL and the OCLCTIC. Signal Spam sends a monthly ranking of the most reported senders in France to the CNIL, which uses it as evidence to trigger a control procedure.

Benefits for the Internet user:

File an official complaint as digital evidence for public authorities.

Benefits to the authorities:

A digital evidence base that can be used during legal proceedings and as a source of investigation.

Share This

Vous êtes au coeur de la lutte contre le spam

Signal Spam est un instrument permettant de partager une information sur les courriers jugés indésirables par les utilisateurs : c’est l’internaute qui fait remonter en temps réel l’information qu’un spam est parvenu jusqu’à lui, qu’elle qu’en soit la nature. Il s’agit là d’une information qualitative et précieuse tant pour les professionnels de la sécurité que pour les expéditeurs de courriels commerciaux responsables. Ce faisant, l’internaute participe à la lutte contre le spam.

signaler un spam
signal spam

Transmission de vos signalements

Ce que nous transmettons et à qui
Les actions entreprises
  • Autorité de protection des données

    Top 50 des campagnes de spam et des domaines émetteurs les plus signalés.

    La CNIL contrôle les sociétés et applique les sanctions.

  • Hébergeurs web

    Transmission des signalements concernant leur réseau.

    Dialogue / Restriction/ Fermeture des compte clients émettant du spam.

  • Routeurs expéditeurs de messages

    Transmissions des signalements concernant leur réseau, domaines et campagnes.

    Désinscription des internautes. Régulation marketing.

  • Police & Gendarmerie

    Réquisition dans la base de données pour enquêtes.

    Identification des cybercriminels et procédures judiciaires.

  • Annonceurs

    Transmissions des signalements générées par la prospection commerciale et/ou des messages usurpant la communication de la société.

    Régulation marketing et lutte contre le phishing.

  • Sécurité

    Alimentation en URL de phishing, en signalement de spam ou spambot.

    Renforcement des filtres, blacklists et moteurs anti-spam.

  • Fournisseurs d’accès internet et service de messageries

    Identification des terminaux infectés émettant du spam sur les réseaux des opérateurs.

    Désinfection des machines compromises.

Désinscription des bases de données

Lorsque les signalements de l’utilisateur correspondent à des messages en provenance d’annonceurs, d’e-commerçants ou de routeurs (expéditeurs de messages en masse) membres ou ayants droit de Signal Spam, les signalements sont traités comme une demande de désinscription.

Dans la pratique, Signal Spam propose un accès à une boucle de rétroaction qui permet de communiquer en temps réel à son expéditeur une plainte sur un message qu’il a envoyé, autorisant ainsi de faire valoir l e droit d’opposition de l’internaute, de réguler l’activité marketing, et d’optimiser la délivrabilité des envois légitimes.

Ce travail avec les professionnels de l’e-mailing afin de responsabiliser le marché est crucial : environ 90% de ce qui est considéré comme du spam par les internautes est d’origine commerciale, terme qui recouvre des pratiques très diverses. Les membres de Signal Spam acceptent une charte déontologique au moment de leur adhésion à l’association et s’engagent, en fonction de leur profession, sur les meilleures pratiques.

Les bénéficiaires de la boucle de rétroactions sont identifiables par ce logo :

Bénéfices pour l'internaute :

Faire valoir son droit d’opposition à travers un clic qui est traité à la fois comme une demande de désinscription mais aussi une preuve numérique utilisable par les autorités en charge de la régulation de l’e-mail de nature commerciale.

Bénéfices pour les expéditeurs de messages :

Recevoir une boucle de rétroaction, un outil indispensable pour connaître le taux de plainte générer par une campagne, conseiller ses annonceurs, et mieux appliquer le droit d’opposition des internautes.

Lutte contre le Cybercrime et les réseaux d’ordinateurs corrumpus

Les experts considèrent aujourd’hui que la plus grande menace de nature cybercriminelle est posée par les botnets (de l’Anglais « Robot Networks ») : des réseaux d’ordinateurs cor rompus , travaillant à l’insu de leur propriétaire pour le crime organisé ou le terrorisme international à l’émission de spam (pour se financer) ou à des attaques contre des serveurs publiques et privés. On ignore le taux d’infection des ordinateurs par des botnets, mais l’estimation d’un quart des ordinateurs du grand public est avancée par les experts.

L’entête technique d’un spam contient des informations sur un terminal infecté qui a servi à son émission. Signal Spam traite ces données et les redistribue aux pouvoirs publics, opérateurs de réseaux (qui mettent à disposition les connexions des internautes) et professionnels de la sécurisation des réseaux, et promeut un partage global de cette information pour lutter efficacement contre ce phénomène dans le monde.

Signal Spam redistribue aux opérateurs et aux acteurs de la lutte contre le cybercrime des informations leur permettant de contrecarrer l’infection de machines des usagers et promeut un partage global des informations.

Bénéfices pour l’internaute :

Un outil simple et unique permettant de signaler tout type de menace sans avoir à se poser la question de la nature exacte de la menace – l’internaute joue un rôle actif dans sa protection et participe à la lutte contre le cybercrime.

Bénéfices pour les acteurs de la lutte contre le cybercrime (autorités publ iques et industriels) :

Recevoir une information utile et enrichie, émanant de la meilleure source possible, permettant l’identification des spammeurs et des cybercriminels et le déploiement de contremesures appropriées.

Lutte contre le phishing (hameçonnage), les fraudes et la contrefaçon

Signal Spam met à disposition des professionnels soucieux de préserver leur image et leurs clients des alertes et des flux de données sur les campagnes de spam qui imitent la communication ou reprennent le nom d’un expéditeur de confiance. Les entreprises peuvent connaître de manière fiable les attaques qui les ciblent, et mettre en place des protections nécessaires.

Le phishing (hameçonnage), est une menace tant pour l ’ internaute que pour les entreprises. Signal Spam récupère les URL (adresses de sites internet) contenues dans les spam qui tentent d’inciter les internautes à inscrire des informations bancaires qui seront volées et réutilisées.

Les marques et les professionnels de la sécurité des réseaux reçoivent un flux qualifié d’URL ou de signalements de phishing.

Bénéfices pour l’internaute :

Un outil qui sert à signaler toute tentative de vol d’informations bancaires et personnelles. Signal Spam procède à la qualification

Bénéfices pour les marques et les professionnels de la sécurité :

Recevoir des alertes en temps réel sur les campagnes d’hameçonnage qui ciblent une marque afin de bloquer les URL malignes signalées dans les navigateurs internet.

Une base de preuves numériques

Une plainte formulée par un internaute constitue une preuve numérique tenue à disposition des enquêteurs de police et de gendarmerie dans le but d’obtenir des éléments probants qui complètent les dossiers d’instruction.

Signal Spam a signé deux conventions de partenariat avec la CNIL et l’OCLCTIC. Signal Spam transmet mensuellement un classement des expéditeurs les plus signalés en France à la CNIL qui s’en saisit comme élément probant pour déclencher une procédure de contrôle.

Bénéfices pour l’internaute :

Déposer une plainte officielle faisant office de preuve numérique pour les autorités publique.

Bénéfices pour les autorités :

Une base de preuves numériques utilisable en cours de procédure judiciaire et comme source d’investigation.

55bc1dc97cd04cf77d15965c329c5a85~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~