Spam and the pharmaceutical black market: new study

5 September 2012

Spam is an ideal vehicle for all kinds of scams, frauds and identity or banking information theft. The main thrust of these messages is based on deception, abuse of trust and fictitious promises. These manifestations are relatively well known, even if it is sometimes difficult to understand the exact nature of spam.

Another category exists that is both tangential to the group of spam that is cybercriminal in nature, and to the group of spam that is marketing abuse: promotional spam for counterfeit products. This phenomenon is particularly present in the pharmaceutical industry due to black markets and the proliferation of online offers and affiliate programs that generate hundreds of millions of dollars in gross revenue. The viagra molecule being the undisputed champion of this economy.

At its 21ème At a security symposium, the USENIX Association (which focuses on complex computer systems) heard from American academics who have closely observed the ins and outs of the black market pharmaceutical economy. The trade of unauthorized molecules or the online sale of counterfeit products relies mainly on an underground industry of prospecting and advertising that uses spam, "black hats" (hackers who exercise their skills by carrying out illegal actions - in this case the optimization of the referencing of sites that host offers of counterfeit products at various levels) or even forums specialized in this type of abuse.

The American researchers from George Mason University, Berkeley, and California University, expose in their study (which you will find in its original version at the bottom of the page) the mechanisms underlying this parallel economy. The behaviors of the customers, mainly in the United States and Western Europe, the prospection and affiliation programs (via the systematic use of spam and botnets to send them), the sponsors, the payment and financialization processes... are all presented in this study made possible by the observation over a period of 5 years of the economic circuits around 3 major affiliation programs which are GlavMed (73 million profit between January 2007 and April 2010 with nearly 600,000 customers), SpamIt (85 million profit over the same period with about 700,000 orders placed) and RX-Promotion (12 million profit between October 2009 and December 2010).

The study concludes that there are some weaknesses in this underground economy: the monetization of the activity necessarily depends on payment service providers, of which there are few. In addition, net revenues remain modest, due to the costs of affiliate programs (even if they generate a very large number of sales).

You can find a presentation of the filmed study on this page: https://www.usenix.org/conference/usenixsecurity12/pharmaleaks-understanding-business-online-pharmaceutical-affiliate

sec12-final204

Share This

Le spam et le marché noir de l’industrie pharmaceutique : nouvelle étude

5 septembre 2012

Le spam  est un vecteur privilégié pour toutes sortes d’arnaques, d’escroqueries et de vols d’identité ou d’informations bancaires. Le ressort principal de ces messages repose sur la tromperie, l’abus de confiance et les promesses fictives. Ces manifestations sont relativement bien connues, même s’il est parfois difficile d’appréhender la nature exacte d’un spam.

Une autre catégorie existe, à la fois tangente au groupe des spams de nature cybercriminelle, et au groupe de ceux qui relèvent d’un marketing abusif : le spam promotionnel pour des produits de contrefaçon. Ce phénomène est particulièrement présent au sein de l’industrie pharmaceutique en raison des marchés noirs et de la prolifération des offres en ligne et des programmes d’affiliation qui génèrent des centaines de millions de dollars bruts. La molécule de viagra étant la championne indiscutable de cette économie.

Lors de son 21ème symposium sur la sécurité, l’Association USENIX (ayant pour objet les systèmes informatiques complexes) donnait la parole à des universitaires américains qui ont observé de près les tenants et les aboutissants de l’économie parallèle créée par le marché noir des produits pharmaceutiques. Le commerce de molécules non-autorisées ou la vente en ligne de produits contrefaits repose principalement sur une industrie souterraine de prospection et de publicité qui fait la part belle aux spams, aux « black hats » (hackers qui exercent leur compétence en réalisant des actions illégales – en l’occurrence l’optimisation du référencement de sites qui hébergent à différents niveaux les offres de produits contrefaits) ou encore aux forums spécialisés dans les abus de ce type.

Les chercheurs américains des universités George Mason, de Berkeley, et de Californie, exposent dans  leur étude (que vous retrouverez dans sa version originale au bas de la page) les mécanismes qui sous-tendent cette économie parallèle. Les comportements des clients répartis principalement aux Etats-Unis et en Europe de l’Ouest, les programmes de prospection et d’affiliation (via le recours systématique au spam et aux botnets pour les émettre), les sponsors, les procédés de paiement et de financiarisation… sont tous présentés dans cette étude rendue possible par l’observation sur une période de 5 ans des circuits économiques autour de 3 programmes d’affiliation majeurs que sont GlavMed (73 millions de bénéfices entre janvier 2007 et avril 2010 avec près de 600 000 clients), SpamIt (85 millions de bénéfice sur la même période avec environ 700 000 commandes passées) et RX-Promotion (12 millions de bénéfices entre octobre 2009 et décembre 2010).

L’étude met en avant, dans sa conclusion, quelques faiblesses de cette économie souterraine : la monétisation de l’activité dépend nécessairement de prestataires de services de paiement qui sont peu nombreux. De plus, les revenus nets demeurent modestes, en raison des coûts engendrés par les programmes d’affiliation (même si ceux-ci génèrent un nombre très important de ventes).

Vous pouvez retrouver une présentation de l’étude filmée sur cette page : https://www.usenix.org/conference/usenixsecurity12/pharmaleaks-understanding-business-online-pharmaceutical-affiliate

sec12-final204

4a8d17e55b8d3739311248958b935670************************
Share This