OCLCTIC and Signal Spam sign a partnership agreement

4 May 2011

OCLCTIC and Signal Spam sign a partnership agreement in response to the increase in Internet fraud 

 

Valérie Maldonado, divisional commissioner, head of the central office for combating crime linked to information and communication technologies (OCLCTIC) of the central directorate of the judicial police (DCPJ), and Jean-Christophe Le Toquin, president of the Signal Spam association, the trusted network for action against spam, signed a partnership agreement on Wednesday 4 May 2011 as part of the fight against spam, which is a vehicle for fraud and scams, and for a safer Internet.

This signature formalises a public-private partnership started in 2005 and formalises the optimisation of the systems put at the service of Internet users as well as the effectiveness of the actions against spam and spammers. A unique project in the world bringing together all the players in the email ecosystem: companies and operators, associations and public players, Signal Spam is based on the reporting by Internet users of emails of any kind of which they consider themselves to be victims, in a simple manner.

Building on the wealth of partnerships for even greater efficiency 

Three years after the creation of the national platform for reporting illegal Internet content (www.internet-signalement.gouv.fr), the statistics show the persistence of these lucrative criminal practices. If in 2009, the platform called "PHAROS" received 52,353 reports, of which 50.6% related to scams, in 2010 77,646 reports were received, of which 57% related to scams. For 2011, if the trend of the first three months continues, the 100,000 mark could be reached by the end of the year, half of which are related to scams. 

Optimising reporting flows by combining skills 

For Valérie Maldonado, "it is in a spirit of efficiency in the common plan to fight against spam that the director general of the national police has issued a favourable opinion on the signing of this agreement. It ensures a judicious rapprochement between the PHAROS and Signal Spam platforms. In this respect, a redirection to Signal Spam is now proposed to the Internet user in the PHAROS reporting form when he selects "spam" in the list of offences. Signal Spam is the structure best able to process and analyse spam in all its aspects. 

Fighting spam effectively by tackling it at source 

The information sent to Signal Spam by Internet users is relayed to the public and private players concerned so that they can take action at the source of the sending. Unsubscribing from marketing lists by routers and advertisers, controls by the CNIL of companies with abusive practices, neutralisation by Internet service providers of infected computers used in spamming networks (botnet), are some of the possible actions. This database of alerts is also a source of evidence in judicial investigations by the police and gendarmerie. 

Jean-Christophe Le Toquin, president of the Signal Spam association: "This agreement is a new step forward in the concerted mobilisation of public and private actors. It ensures that we can fight on all fronts to clean up the networks and preserve the trust of Internet users in the use of email. Reporting is acting". 

Read the press release

 

Share This

L’OCLCTIC et Signal Spam signent une convention de partenariat

4 mai 2011

Face à l’augmentation de la fraude sur Internet, l’OCLCTIC et Signal Spam signent une convention de partenariat 

 

Valérie Maldonado, commissaire divisionnaire, chef de l’office central de lutte contre la criminalité liée aux technologies de l’information et de la communication (OCLCTIC) de la direction centrale de la police judiciaire (DCPJ), et Jean-Christophe Le Toquin, président de l’association Signal Spam, le réseau de confiance pour agir contre le spam, ont signé le mercredi 4 mai 2011 une convention de partenariat s’inscrivant dans le cadre de la lutte contre le spam, véhiculant fraudes et escroqueries, et pour un Internet plus sûr.

Cette signature officialise un partenariat public-privé débuté en 2005 et formalise l’optimisation des dispositifs mis au service des internautes tout autant que l’efficacité des actions contre le spam et les spammeurs. Projet unique au monde réunissant tous les acteurs de l’écosystème email : entreprises et opérateurs, associations et acteurs publics, Signal Spam repose sur le signalement par les internautes des courriels de toute nature dont ils s’estiment victimes, et ce, en toute simplicité.

S’appuyer sur la richesse des partenariats pour encore plus d’efficacité 

Trois ans après la création de la plateforme nationale de signalement des contenus illicites de l’Internet (www.internet-signalement.gouv.fr), les états statistiques montrent la persistance de ces pratiques délictuelles lucratives. Si en 2009, la plateforme dénommée « PHAROS » a reçu 52.353 signalements, dont 50,6 % se rapportant à des escroqueries, en 2010 ce sont 77.646 signalements qui ont été reçus, dont 57% relatifs aux escroqueries. Pour 2011, si la tendance des trois premiers mois se poursuit, la barre des 100 000 signalements pourrait être atteinte à la fin de l’année, dont une moitié pour les escroqueries. 

Optimiser les flux de signalement en combinant les compétences 

Pour Valérie Maldonado, « c’est dans un esprit d’efficacité dans le plan de lutte commun contre le spam que le directeur général de la police nationale a émis un avis favorable à la signature de cette convention. Elle assure un rapprochement judicieux entre la plateforme PHAROS et celle de Signal Spam. A cet égard, une redirection vers Signal Spam est maintenant proposée à l’internaute dans le formulaire de signalements PHAROS lorsqu’il sélectionne « spam » dans la liste des infractions. Signal Spam étant la structure la mieux à même de traiter et d’analyser les spams dans l’intégralité de sa problématique. » 

Lutter efficacement en prenant le problème du spam à la source 

Les informations transmises à Signal Spam par les internautes sont relayées vers les acteurs concernés, publics et privés, afin qu’ils agissent à la source de l’envoi. Désinscription dans les listes marketing par les routeurs et les annonceurs, contrôles par la CNIL des entreprises aux pratiques abusives, neutralisation par les fournisseurs d’accès Internet des ordinateurs infectés et utilisés dans des réseaux d’envoi de spams (botnet), sont quelques-unes des actions possibles. Cette base de signalements constitue également une source de preuves lors d’enquêtes judiciaires menées par les services de police et de gendarmerie. 

Jean-Christophe Le Toquin, président de l’association Signal Spam : « Cette convention est une nouvelle avancée dans la mobilisation concertée des acteurs publics et privés. Elle assure la possibilité de lutter sur tous les fronts afin d’assainir les réseaux et de préserver la confiance des internautes dans l’usage de l’email. Signaler, c’est agir ». 

Lire le communiqué de presse

 

2320d8caa0802ececc8bf2393d4b97c9UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU
Share This