Signal Spam initiates its European development

11 January 2011

Signal Spam will meet on 14 February in the Netherlands with all actors involved in the fight against spam. This first step in the European development of Signal Spam is in line with the guidelines of the European Commission.

Recently, it announced its strategy to increase the level of security for citizens and businesses in cyberspace.
This strategy includes the creation in 2013 of a central unit for real-time sharing of resources and best practices between Member States and businesses (Communication from the Commission to the European Parliament and the Council of 22 November 2010, page 11).

It is in this context that Signal Spam was recently invited to present its cooperation model to the European Commission. This intervention, which took place on 15 December 2010 during the 3rd conference on public/private dialogue in the fight against illegal content, was supported by the intervention of the Head of the OCLCTIC (Office Central de Lutte contre la Criminalité liée aux Technologies de l'Information et de la Communication) and that of the Complaints Department of the CNIL (Commission Nationale Informatique et Libertés).

The Signal Spam delegation also included representatives from AFA (Association des Fournisseurs d'Accès), Orange, SFR and Return Path. All of them were able to testify about their involvement in Signal Spam and the importance of collecting alerts from users. At the end of the day, the European Commission announced the creation of a working group in which Signal Spam will be invited to play an active role.

These two events, the European working group and the awareness day in the Netherlands, will allow Signal Spam to accelerate awareness of the need to develop spam reporting centres across Europe. This awareness will facilitate the establishment of the European Central Unit against Cybercrime in 2013.

Share This

Signal Spam initie son développement européen

11 janvier 2011

Signal Spam rencontrera le 14 février aux Pays-Bas l’ensemble des acteurs impliqués dans la question de la lutte antispam. Ce premier pas dans le développement européen de Signal Spam est conforme aux orientations de la Commission Européenne.

Récemment, elle a annoncé sa stratégie visant à accroître le niveau de sécurité des citoyens et des entreprises dans le cyberespace.
Cette stratégie comprend la création en 2013 d’une unité centrale de partage en temps réel de ressources et de meilleures pratiques entre les États membres et les entreprises (Communication de la Commission au parlement Européen et au Conseil du 22 novembre 2010, page 11).

C’est dans ce cadre que Signal Spam a récemment été invité à présenter son modèle de coopération à la Commission Européenne. Cette intervention, qui a eu lieu le 15 décembre 2010 lors de la 3e conférence sur le dialogue public/privé dans la lutte contre les contenus illégaux, a été soutenue par l’intervention du Chef de l’OCLCTIC (Office Central de Lutte contre la Criminalité liée aux Technologies de l’Information et de la Communication) et celle du Service des plaintes de la CNIL (Commission Nationale Informatique et Libertés).

La délégation de Signal Spam incluait également des représentants de l’AFA (Association des Fournisseurs d’Accès), d’Orange, de SFR et de Return Path. Tous ont pu témoigner de leur implication dans Signal Spam et de l’importance de la collecte des signalements venants des utilisateurs. À l’issue de cette journée, la Commission Européenne a annoncé la création d’un groupe de travail auquel Signal Spam sera invité à jouer un rôle actif.

Ces deux évènements, le groupe de travail européen et la journée de rencontre et de sensibilisation aux Pays-Bas, vont permettre à Signal Spam d’accélérer la prise de conscience quant à la nécessité de développer des centres de signalements de spams à travers l’Europe. Une prise de conscience qui facilitera la constitution de l’unité centrale européenne contre le cybercrime en 2013.

3d034ded3edf70884c15bdf085ea8f0a>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Share This