Yahoo! wins $610 million compensation for spam

12 December 2011

 

 

The US web portal Yahoo! said on Wednesday (7 December 2011) that a judge has sentenced in absentia spam writers who created a fake lottery on behalf of Yahoo! to pay it $610 million (€455 million) in damages. The ruling was handed down by a New York federal court on Monday. It is the result of a lawsuit filed in 2008.

According to AP, a group of Nigerian and Thai cyber criminals were sending mass emails to Internet users, indicating that they had won a lottery organised by the American group Yahoo! But these messages were actually used to obtain, through a phishing technique (or"phishing" ), personal data such as credit card numbers. According to the minutes of the complaint, provided by Yahoo!, approximately 11.7 million of these forged emails were sent between December 2006 and May 2009.

Legal proceedings against cyber criminals behind spam are rare, mainly because it is very difficult to identify the origin of the fraudsters. But other Web companies have also obtained favourable decisions, according to the specialised site Zdnet. This is notably the case of the social network MySpace, which obtained 6 million dollars (4.5 million euros) in compensation in 2008, in a spam case.

Yahoo!'s announcement comes as anti-virus vendor Symantec, in its latest report, estimates that spam or junk mail now accounts for 70.5% of global email traffic, its lowest level in years. But as another report by Cisco in June indicated, the number of spam emails is still growing, while mass spamming is declining, counterfeit emails are increasingly personalised and targeted.

Source: LEMONDE.FR with AFP and AP | 08.12.11 

Read the article on the original page

Share This

Yahoo! obtient 610 millions de dollars de dédommagement pour des spams

12 décembre 2011

 

 

Le portail Web américain Yahoo! a indiqué, mercredi 7 décembre 2011, qu'un juge a condamné par contumace des auteurs de spam ayant créé une fausse loterie au nom de Yahoo!, à lui verser des dédommagements d'un montant de 610 millions de dollars (455 millions d'euros). Le jugement a été rendu par un tribunal fédéral de New York lundi. Il est l'aboutissement d'une plainte déposée en 2008.

D'après l'agence AP, un groupe de cyber délinquants nigérians et thaïlandais envoyait massivement des courriels aux internautes, indiquant qu'ils avaient remporté une loterie organisée par le groupe américain Yahoo!. Mais ces messages permettaient en réalité d'obtenir, par une technique d'hameçonnage (ou« phishing » en anglais), des données personnelles comme les numéros de cartes de crédit. D'après le procès-verbal de la plainte, fourni par Yahoo !, environ 11,7 millions de ces courriels contrefaits ont été envoyés entre décembre 2006 et mai 2009.

Les procédures judiciaires contre les cyber délinquants à l'origine de courriers indésirables sont rares, essentiellement parce qu'il est très difficile d'identifier l'origine des escrocs. Mais d'autres entreprises du Web ont également obtenu des décisions favorables, rappelle le site spécialisé Zdnet. C'est notamment le cas du réseau social MySpace, qui avait obtenu 6 millions de dollars (4,5 millions d'euros) de dédommagement en 2008, dans une affaire de spam.

Cette annonce de Yahoo! intervient alors que l'éditeur d'antivirus Symantec, dans son dernier rapport, estime que les spam ou pourriels représentent désormais 70,5 % du trafic mondial des courriels, leur plus bas niveau depuis des années. Mais comme l'indiquait un autre rapport de l'entreprise Cisco, en juin, si l'envoi massif de spam est en recul, les courriels contrefaits sont de plus en plus personnalisés et ciblés.

Source : LEMONDE.FR avec AFP et AP | 08.12.11 

Lire l'article sur la page originale

9c0b040a3c3779b4f76423b6063a18fb)))))))))))
Share This