CNIL strengthens its partnership with Signal Spam

6 July 2017

The Commission Nationale Informatique et Libertés (CNIL) today announced a closer partnership with Signal Spam.

The CNIL explains that it has taken this decision in order to improve the effectiveness of the fight against spam (https://www.cnil.fr/fr/lutte-contre-le-spam-une-evolution-pour-plus-defficacite)

"Noting that despite its day-to-day mobilization, complaints about unsolicited advertising messages continue to increase (10% of complaints in 2014, 12% of complaints in 2015, 22% of complaints in 2016), the CNIL has decided to change its mode of intervention.

In order to fight spam more actively, the CNIL is moving from an individual investigation of complaints, which has shown its limits, to a collective treatment based on a reinforced collaboration with the Signal spam association. The more systematic centralization of reports to the Signal spam platform will enable the CNIL to have a global view of the phenomenon, and therefore to conduct more effective investigations and repressive policies.

Operationally, Signal Spam will accompany CNIL agents in analysing the campaigns and senders that Internet users complain most about to Signal Spam, with a view to carrying out a more sustained control of the legality of the collection of consent and the sending of e-mails.

Signal Spam already provided the CNIL with a classification of the most reported domains and spam campaigns, and technical information allowing the identification of the authors, but this reinforced cooperation will allow for more effective action which should lead to sanctions against unscrupulous actors and the Data Protection Act and Article 39-4 of the Electronic Communications and Posts Code.

Share This

La CNIL resserre son partenariat avec Signal Spam

6 juillet 2017

La Commission Nationale Informatique et Libertés a annoncé aujourd’hui le resserrement du partenariat avec Signal Spam.

La CNIL explique prendre cette décision en vue d’une plus grande efficacité dans la lutte contre le spam (https://www.cnil.fr/fr/lutte-contre-le-spam-une-evolution-pour-plus-defficacite)

« Constatant que malgré sa mobilisation au quotidien, les plaintes concernant des messages publicitaires non sollicités ne cessent d’augmenter (10% des plaintes en 2014, 12% des plaintes en 2015, 22% des plaintes en 2016), la CNIL a décidé de changer de mode d’intervention.

Pour lutter plus activement contre le spam, la CNIL passe d’une instruction individuelle des plaintes, qui a montré ses limites,  à un traitement collectif fondé sur une collaboration renforcée avec l’association Signal spam. La centralisation plus systématique des signalements auprès de la plateforme Signal spam permettra en effet à la CNIL de disposer d’une vision globale du phénomène, et donc de conduire des investigations et une politique répressive plus efficaces. »

Opérationnellement, Signal Spam accompagnera les agents de la CNIL pour faire l’analyse des campagnes et des émetteurs dont se plaignent le plus les internautes auprès de Signal Spam, en vue d’opérer un contrôle plus soutenu de la légalité de la collecte du consentement et de l’émission de courriers électroniques.

Signal Spam mettait déjà à disposition de la CNIL un classement des domaines et des campagnes de spam les plus signalés, et les informations techniques autorisant l’identification des auteurs, mais cette coopération renforcée permettra une action plus efficace qui devrait aboutir à des sanctions des acteurs peu scrupuleux et la loi Informatique et Libertés et de l’article 39-4 du code des communications électroniques et des postes.

09f9f98869e2894444b07fa67011d356!
Share This